Welcome to Grimes County

Grimes County was created in 1846 from a portion of Montgomery County. The county was named for Jesse Grimes, one of Stephen F. Austin's Colonists, a Texas Declaration of Independence signer, and a State Senator.


About Grimes County

The county seat is the town of Anderson. The present court house was built in 1893. Four prior court houses had been destroyed; one by wind and three by fire. The first Grimes County Courthouse was constructed from cedar logs. Fire destroyed this structure in 1848 and in 1850 a ferocious wind destroyed the second courthouse. W. W. Arrington designed the third Courthouse and built it from stone in February 1850. This courthouse burned on May 15, 1890 and the fire of January 20, 1893 destroyed the fourth courthouse. The present courthouse was restored in 2002 with a grant from the Texas Historical Commission and is now a Registered Historic Landmark. The western part of the county is drained by the Navasota and Brazos rivers, which form its western boundary; much of the eastern portion of the county drains into the West Fork of the San Jacinto River, while the Trinity River drains the northernmost areas of the county. Cattle, forage, dairy, poultry, horses, peaches, pecans, berries, and honey are the chief agricultural products.

Grimes County
Grimes County Appraisal District

Explore Homes in Grimes County!

Get instant access to the latest properties to hit Grimes County real estate market.

We're one call away!

Schedule a call on your time.

Schedule a Call
We use cookies to enhance your browsing experience and deliver our services. By continuing to visit this site, you agree to our use of cookies. More info